Hazelbrook Public School

Respectful, responsible learners

Telephone02 4758 6120


Learning at our school

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the primary years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 6 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science and technology.

Some primary schools may also offer languages.

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. Primary school covers Early Stage 1, or Kindergarten, to the end of Stage 3.

  • Stage 1 includes Kindergarten to Year 2 (Kindergarten is referred to as Early Stage 1).
  • Stage 2 includes Years 3 and 4.
  • Stage 3 includes Years 5 and 6.


The Literacy and Numeracy Continuums shows the stages of development in literacy and numeracy skills.




The Lexile Framework:

What is a Lexile?

The innovative computer-based resource that motivates, encourages and monitors guided and independent reading.
Take the guesswork out of matching students to books!

The Lexile Framework®:

  • Motivates and encourages your students to read
  • Uses real books from major children's publishers—both Australian and international
  • Includes popular and classic titles—many of which will already be in your school library
  • Has a huge database of almost 7000 texts that is constantly being updated


The Lexile Framework; is grounded in over twenty years of research and has been developed in consultation with the Australian Centre for Educational Research (ACER)